article photo 1

International Whitewater Hall of Fame Inducts Risa Shimoda

Posted: 08/30/2010
by Mark Singleton

The International Whitewater Hall of Fame (IWHOF) recognizes and honors individuals who have made significant contributions to whitewater related activities.The first class of honorees was inducted in 2005. To date, 25 honorees from the United States, Australia, France, Germany and New Zealand have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Honorees are extraordinary people because they fell in love with the adventure and romance of whitewater rivers. They challenged themselves to achieve their best as athletes and citizens, as adventurers, inventors and stewards.

This year IWHOF is inducting Risa Shimoda. Risa first made a name for herself as a hold nothing back eastern squirt boater in the 80's and represented the US in six World Freestyle Championships (1993 - 2007). But it has been through her volunteerism that she has made the greatest contributions to whitewater paddling. At various times in the last 25 years Risa has been a Board Member, President and former Executive Director of American Whitewater. She is currently the Event Director of the Potomac Whitewater Festival.

When asked about being honored as an inductee to the IWHOF, Risa replied: "This honor illustrates that one person can make a difference, just by deciding to do so. The honor really belongs to people I have been honored to know and love with whom I’ve drafted controversial letters; fulfilled merchandise, checked and double checked silent auction lists, produced signs and banners; and damned stubborn, bureaucratic processes…and those who have tolerated my penchant for doing so with warm patience."

American Whitewater congratulates Risa in her many accomplishments. Tickets for the September 25 event can be purchased online at:


Also the U.S. Whitewater Slalom Nationals will take place at Mirant's Dickerson Whitewater Course Sunday, September 26th. Opening Ceremony is at 9:30am and the slalom race is at 10am.   A Boatercross event will take place at 1:45pm.   Entry deadline for all events is September 17th. Entry is free for spectators,  but event organizers ask for a $10 donation per car to offset the cost of shuttle buses. More information is available at: